The Olsen twins win last year’s Womenswear Designer of the Year Award for label, The Row

Diane Von Furstenberg and Nadja Swarovski have recently announced the nominees for this year’s prestigious CFDA Awards, which are due to take place on 3 June.

The Council of Fashion Designers of America recognises the outstanding contributions made to American fashion by individuals from all areas of the industry and related arts, with awards being given for design excellence in womenswear, menswear and accessories as well as extraordinary accomplishments in journalism, creative vision and lifetime achievement.

Alexander Wang, Marc Jacobs, and Phillip Lim are all in the running to win an award this year whilst confirmed winners include Oscar de la Renta who will receive Founder Awards and Givenchy’s Riccardo Tisci, who has been named the recipient of the International Award.

Judge Nadja Swarovski revealed, “Each one of this year’s nominees is an inspiring industry leader who has played a powerful role in making American fashion what it is today. Meanwhile, spearheading a new generation of American talent are the nominees for the Swarovski Awards. We hope their vision and exceptional creativity will make them leaders of the industry in years to come.”

Last year’s event saw Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen take to the stage to pick up the Womenswear Designer of the Year (beating off competition from this year’s nominees Marc Jacobs and Proenza Schouler) for their label, The Row. There were also appearances from Kate Bosworth in Altuzarra, Dakota Fanning in Proenza Schouler and a bevy of Victoria’s Secret models.


Diane von Furstenberg, president of the CFDA, presented a surprise award to Nadja Swarovski at the 2011 CFDA Awards



International Award: Givency’s Riccardo Tisco

Media Award: Tim Blanks

Founders Award: Oscar de la Renta

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Vera Wang

Board of Directors’ Tribute Award: Costume designer Colleen Atwood

Menswear Designer of the Year
Michael Bastian
Thom Browne
Duckie Brown’s Steven Cox and Daniel Silver

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Marc Jacobs
Alexander Wang
Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez

Accessory Designer of the Year
Alexander Wang
Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez
Phillip Lim

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Irene Neuwirth
Jennifer Meyer
Pamela Love

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Tim Coppens
Todd Snyder
Public School’s Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne

Swarovski Awards for Womenswear
Suno’s Erin Beatty and Max Osterweis
Creatures of the Wind’s Shane Gabier and Christopher Peters
Cushnie et Ochs’ Carly Cushnie and Michelle Ochs


Twitter: @BPRSocial

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bthecommunicationsagency

Pinterest: B Public Relations

Instagram: bprsocial